What is EYFS?

The revised Early Years Foundation Stage. What does it mean?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a document for early years providers, to help them support your children’s learning and development from birth to five years old.

Who makes sure that registered early years providers are following the EYFS?

All registered early years providers are inspected by Ofsted to make sure they meet the legal requirements of the EYFS. We are also provided support from the Local Early years’ advisory team, who also visit to ensure standards are being met.
Our Ofsted report can be found here: here

The EYFS curriculum

Early years providers working with children from birth to three years old are expected to focus on the following three prime areas, which support learning in all other areas.

  • 1. Personal, social and emotional development
  • 2. Physical development
  • 3. Communication and language
  • These three prime areas help children to develop and learn, and become ready for school. As well as the three prime areas, early years providers will also plan activities in the following areas of learning and development, known as specific areas.

  • 4. Literacy
  • 5. Mathematics
  • 6. Understanding the world
  • 7. Expressive arts and design
  • How can I find out more?

    Talk to your child’s key person who will be happy to answer any questions you have. You can also view a copy of the Statutory and non-statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage 2012 on the Department for Education website here

    More information regarding EYFS can be downloaded here or from All About Me section under Admissions or you can talk to one of our practioners. To read more about the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum Policy click read more.

    Read More